Fermanagh South Tyrone count resumes


Counting has resumed at the Omagh Leisure Centre for Fermanagh South Tyrone constituency in the 2016 Assembly elections.

Following her UUP party colleague Alastair Patterson’s departure last night, Cllr Rosemary Barton looks set to take the fourth seat in the sixth stage of counting, with the results expected mid-morning.

That will leave two seats left to be filled, with Sinn Fein’s outgoing MLA Sean Lynch and Cllr John Feely, as well as SDLP Cllr Richie McPhillips still in the running. While nothing is completely certain yet, it seems at this stage that both Sinn Fein candidates will be elected.


Yesterday, First Minister Arlene Foster topped the poll, with fellow DUP MLA Maurice Morrow the second to be eleceted. Sinn Fein’s Michelle Gildernew also received a strong vote, being elected on the fourth count yesterday evening.

Keep up-to-date with all the results on our live blog here.


To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA