Fermanagh getting ‘raw deal’ with only three schools on gritting list

A gritter being loaded last year's during the big freeze

A gritter being loaded last year’s during the big freeze

Only three schools in Fermanagh are on the secondary priority gritting list in comparison to 17 in Tyrone.

These three schools are St John the Baptist PS Roscor, Belleek; St Patricks PS Mullanaskea, Garvary; and Killyhommon Primary School in Boho.


The startling revelations were made by local Sinn Fein councillor Sheamus Greene. He explained how he had tried to get a local school on the gritting register for the third year in a row, but to no avail.

After some research Mr Greene told Monday’s meeting of Fermanagh District Council that statistics he received from Roads Service showed only three schools in the county featured on the secondary gritting run in comparison to Tyrone ,which had 17 schools.

“When I queried Roads Service one explanation I was given was that there was a different climate in County Tyrone,” Mr Greene explained.

The councilor spoke of his concern regarding a number of schools situated on high ground, which are impossible to access in the bad weather. “17 to three seems a little one-sided,” he added.

Local UUP councilor Raymond Farrell had some sympathy for Mr Greene and said he knew of schools ‘getting a very raw deal’.

He spoke of difficulties in his local area of Irvinestown, where difficulties currently exist in the Burfits Hill area of the town, the location of the controlled primary school. Despite these problems though, he was told the school did not meet the criteria for inclusion on the run.

Fellow UUP councilor Rosemary Barton noted similar problems in her own area and expressed her concerns, while DUP councilor Bert Johnston said it was “interesting that the new council had two different climates, we’re learning something new tonight.”


While there are three schools on the secondary gritting list, the majority of schools are served by primary gritting routes in Fermanagh according to Roads Service.

Schools close to main roads and in proximity to housing will be served by the standard gritting routes in place.

A Department for Regional Development spokesman said: “Three Fermanagh primary schools will receive priority in the event of secondary gritting.

They are; St John the Baptist PS Roscor, Belleek; St Patricks PS Mullanaskea, Garvary; and Killyhommon Primary School in Boho.

“There were 17 similar schools on the secondary gritting list in Tyrone.

“The list was comprised of those schools that had to close during the severe winter of 2009/10 because of the condition of the road connecting them to the main gritting network.”

To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA