Unbeaten Ballinamallard Reserves clinch title

Ballinamallard Reserves were crowned Division Three champions with two matches to spare on Saturday after a 4-1 win over promotion-hopefuls Newtownstewart United at Fisher Park.

It marked the second such championship in the club’s history, having last won it in 1986, while they were also promoted in 1978.

And, akin to the season overall, after an exemplary start there was little doubt that Ally Irwin’s unbeaten side would claim the victory over Newtownstewart that they required to land the title.


Nick Palmer provided that with the opener after six minutes and, in the end, his double and a goal apiece from Conor Stewart and Ethan Thompson ensured a memorable occasion.

“It’s great to bring a trophy back to Ballinamallard and I’m really happy for the lads at such a young age to have achieved their first men’s trophy,” said Irwin.

“You go around Fermanagh or even lads in that senior dressing room at Ferney Park, there’s not too many people that have won a men’s title at any level.

“It was a lovely day for us all as a team when what you’ve been working for since August comes to fruition.

To read more on this story see this week’s Fermanagh Herald. Can’t get to the shop to collect your copy? No problem! You can download a copy straight to your device by following this link

To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA