All change on the Fermanagh front at FODC

That’s a wrap for Fermanagh candidates in the local council elections!

After a long two days at the Omagh Count Centre, the Fermanagh councillors have now been elected.

In the four Fermanagh DEAs, both Sinn Fein and the Ulster Unionists have six seats, SDLP have four seats, the DUP have three seats while the further three seats are taken by independents.


Here is how each electoral area ended up –


DUP’s Keith Elliott topped the poll as he received 1,161 votes while SDLP’s Paul Blake retained his seat after being elected at the fourth stage of the count.

After a long wait, the UUP had a double election as Robert Irvine and Howard Thornton were both elected at the sixth stage.

The final two seats were filled by Sinn Fein’s Tommy Maguire and Cross Community Labour Party candidate Donal O’Cofaigh. The biggest shock came as sitting Sinn Fein councillor Debbie Coyle failed to be re-elected.

Erne East

The DUP’s veteran councillor Paul Robinson topped the poll after he received 1,382 votes.


Health has clearly been at the forefront of voters’ minds in Erne East, with Roslea surgery campaigner John McCluskey and the UUP’s Victor Warrington, who has also been outspoken on health issues, voted in.

Sinn Fein Councillors Thomas O’Reilly and Sheamus Greene were also re-elected while SDLP’s Gabhan McPhilips also retained his seat.

Erne North

Three new faces make up the Erne North councillors but UUP’s Diana Armstrong topped the poll in Erne North with 1,186 votes.

Sitting SDLP councillor also John Coyle retained his seat.

The final seats were filled by newcomers Sinn Fein’s Siobhan Currie, UUP’s John McClaughrey and DUP’s Deborah Armstrong.

Erne West

The UUP came out top again as sitting councillor Alex Baird was re-elected receiving 1,333 votes at the first stage.

Sitting Sinn Fein councillor Anthony Feely retained his seat, while Independent Councillor Bernice Swift was also re-elected.

Young faces took the final two seats as Sinn Fein’s Chris McCaffrey, and the SDLP’s Adam Gannon being elected in the area. At 24 and 23-years-old, respectively, the pair will become Fermanagh’s youngest councillors.

West Tyrone

After her re-election yesterday, Trillick woman Mary Garrity is now the only surviving SDLP councillor in the three Omagh DEAs. Sinn Fein’s Stephen McCann was also re-elected.


To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

The political battle lines have been drawn following the wrap up of the local government election results with Sinn...


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA