Fermanagh name side to face Wexford in Qualifier opener

Action from last year's league meeting between Fermanagh and Wexford.

Action from last year’s league meeting between Fermanagh and Wexford.

Pete McGrath has named his starting 15 to face Wexford in Saturday’s All-Ireland Championship qualifier in Wexford Park.

The team is unchanged from the side which faced Donegal apart from cosmetic positional switches. Fermanagh gave the 2014 All-Ireland finalists a real run for their money in the first half, before fading away against a 14-man Donegal in the second.


Fermanagh mentor Simon Bradley knows Wexford have rebuilt and their battling one point Leinster championship defeat to Kildare is a sign this side will have to be handled with care.

“This is the same county, the same ground that we played at last year, but it’s going to be a different team with different preparation, even though it’s the same management in place,” said Bradley. “They’ve looked at themselves, they’ve looked at what’s happening in Gaelic football and they’ve started to adopt a new style.

“We’re probably slightly further down the line with that, and we also have the advantage of having played division two football, but it’s only an advantage if we bring the right intensity and attitude to the game from the very get go.”

Fermanagh senior team to face Wexford
Saturday, 5pm, Innovate Wexford Park.

Christopher Snow
(St Joseph’s)
Mickey Jones (Derrygonnelly)
Che Cullen
Marty O’Brien
Declan McCusker
(St Joseph’s)

James McMahon (Roslea)


Aidan Breen

Eoin Donnelly


Richard O’Callaghan
(Enniskillen Gaels)

Barry Mulrone (Devenish)
Ryan Jones

Paul McCusker
(St Joseph’s)

Ruairí Corrigan (Kinawley)
Sean Quigley
Tomás Corrigan (Kinawley)

Meanwhile Wexford boss David Power has also named his side for tomorrow. Ciaran Lyng misses out through injury as will Michael Furlong, Tiernan Rossiter and Michael O’Regan.

Wexford senior team to face Fermanagh
Anthony Masterson; Jim Rossiter, Naomhan Rossiter, Joey Wadding; Brian Malone, Syl Byrne, Simon Donohoe; Colm Kehoe, Daithi Waters; Kevin O’Grady, Adrian Flynn, Eoghan Nolan; Donal Shanley, Ben Brosnan, John Tubritt.
Subs: Philip Murphy, PJ Banville, Shane Roche, Rob Tierney, Kieran Butler, Robbie Vallejo, Paraic O’Keeffe, Niall Hughes, Sean Ryan, Shane Doyle, Paul Curtis.


To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA