Recognition for Fermanagh stars

Fermanagh players celebrate Lory Meagher victory.

Fermanagh players celebrate Lory Meagher victory.

The GAA has confirmed the Champions 15 award winners for the 2015 Meagher hurling championship. The awards are presented to honour the best hurlers over the course of the championship.

Fermanagh have five players honoured and are led by Declan McGarry who scored an outstanding 2-3 in their final victory over Sligo.  Sligo have four players recognised for their heroics, while hurlers from Warwickshire, Lancashire and Leitrim each have two players selected to complete this Champion 15. The full list of winners are listed below.


Lory Meagher Champion 15
Fermanagh Daniel Teague
Fermanagh David Teague
Fermanagh Declan McGarry
Fermanagh Ciaran Corrigan
Fermanagh John Duffy 
Leitrim Paul Earley
Leitrim Clement Cunniffe
Lancashire James O’Shaugnessy 
Lancashire Liam Knocker 
Warwickshire Shane Conlon
Warwickshire Michael Cremin
Sligo Keith Raymond
Sligo Jamie Kenny
Sligo Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch
Sligo Gary Cadden

Uachtarán Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Aogan Ó Fearghail said, “These awards acknowledge the undoubted talent that exists at every level of inter-county hurling.  It also serves as a reminder of the pursuit of excellence that runs right through these competitions from start to finish.”

These awards will be presented at Friday night’s GAA GPA All-Stars banquet sponsored by Opel at the Convention Centre, Dublin.

To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA