Enniskillen ease to under 16 title

Eoin Beacom receives the trophy as Enniskillen Gaels are crowned under 16 Fermanagh champions.

Eoin Beacom receives the trophy as Enniskillen Gaels are crowned under 16 Fermanagh champions.

Under 16 A Championship Final
Enniskillen Gaels 12-17
St Joseph’s 0-1
John Hughes reports from Brewster Park

Enniskillen cruised to the Fermanagh under 16 title, comprehensively outclassing St Joseph’s in this one sided final.


The writing was on the wall a minute and a half into the game when Conor Love’s point effort dropped in to the top left corner of David McKenna’s net. 

Unfortunately for McKenna the first 30 was to be a sustained assault on his post, Sean Cassidy the only man who made any attacking effort of note.

The points flowed with ease for Enniskillen Ronan Quinn, Conor Love and Matthew Dixon popping over before Brandon Horan picked out Conor Love with a good ball and he plundered his second goal of the game.

Matthew Dixon pointed before the third Gaels goal arrived on 11 minutes, Calum Jones chipping the ball home from the edge of the area with time and space to pick his spot.

Jones added a point direct from the kick out with a further white flag being raised by Eoin Beacom. 

When John Reihill casually palmed home from a metre out at the end of the first quarter it was Enniskillen Gaels 4-6 to no score.

Enniskillen contented themselves with points in the second quarter as Ederney were slightly more game. Gavin Greene , Calum Jones, Conor Love, John Reihill and Ronan Beattie all registered to make it Enniskillen 4-11 St Joseph’s 0-0 at the turnover.


The Gaels showed their teeth early in the second half, John Reihill goaling after being very graciously set up by Conor Love. There were points from Ronan Beattie and Eoin Beacom before Love added a goal of his own, making it 6-13 to no score.

After that goals arrived from Matthew Dixon, Eoin Beacom and John Reihill to definitively end the contest just five minutes into the second half.

A Conor Love point preceded the biggest cheer of the day as Pól McKervey steered over a free for Ederney’s opening score.

However the one way traffic resumed shortly after that, Matthew Dixon with a nice point before sub Fergal Quinn who tapped home for the Gaels tenth goal. It was at this point we discovered the score board does not go higher than nine for goals in Brewster Park.

There were further points from Fergal Quinn and Ronan Beattie point, before goals from Ronan Beattie and Patrick Cassidy put the tin hat on a miserable day for Ederney.

A superb result for Niall Jones men who will now head to the Paul McGirr Ulster under 16 championship tournament positively brimming with confidence.



Cian Newman; Odhran Agnew, Tom Hughes-Jordan, Ethan Beresford; Gavin Greene (0-1), Jonathan Cassidy, Brandon Horan; Eoin Beacom (1-2), Patrick Cassidy (1-0); Matthew Dixon (1-3), Ronan Quinn (1-1), John Reihill (2-1); Callum Jones (1-2), Ronan Beattie (1-3, 1f), Conor Love (3-3).

Subs: Matthew McAleer for Ethan Beresford 40m; Conor Rippey for Conor Love 40m; Ethan Butler for Odhran Agnew 40m; Fergal Quinn (1-1) for Ronan Quinn 46m; James Moore for Matthew Dixon 51m; Patrick Keaney for Brandon Horan 51m.


David McKenna; Ronan Monaghan, Niall McGrath, Tyler McKenna; Rory Baird, Ryan McGrath, Luke Harron; Pól McKervey (0-1f), Jacob Britton; Sean Cassidy, Conor Maguire, Conor Gillen; Aaron Baird, John Carrigan, Patrick McAlone.

Subs: Ryan Maguire for Aaron Baird 38m; Eoghan McGoldrick for Patrick McAlone 51m; John McElhill for Conor Gillen 56m.

Yellow card: Ryan McGrath 32

Referee: Nigel Sweeney (Belcoo).

To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA