Mason records first 10K win for Enniskillen Running Club

The start of the Derrygonnelly 10K

The start of the Derrygonnelly 10K

Enniskillen Running Club athletes made the short trip out to Derrygonnelly on Saturday 20th September to take part in the Derrygonnelly 10K organised by Mary Rutledge and the Churchill Ladies Running Group.

This event is one of Co.Fermanagh’s most eagerly awaited 10K’s and the warm welcome and slick organisation is second to none.

The encouragement, direction and traffic management provided by the marshals and PSNI was flawless and appreciated by all participants.
Undoubtedly, the highlight for many was the excellent refreshments provided afterwards in St Patrick’s P.S were everyone gathered to enjoy the opportunity to socialise.

This year, proceeds from the race would be donated to Cancer Connect NI and it was great to see a large turnout of runners & walkers supporting this event.

Such is the events popularity within Enniskillen RC, some of the distance runners who are currently training for various marathons incorporated the event into their long run schedule for this weekend.

Some ran from Enniskillen to Derrygonnelly to then take part in the 10K, others completed one and two laps of the course before the race and one ERC athlete was even spotted running the whole way back to Enniskillen after taking part in the race. Running conditions were perfect with sunshine, blue skies and a light cooling breeze to comfort participants on the accurately measured course.

Richard Mason (38:41) recorded a thoroughly deserved maiden win leading the race from start to finish. David Somerville (39:32) took second place on the male overall rostrum on his second consecutive lap of the course that morning having already completed one lap beforehand.
James Johnston (40:19) took a superb third place having already completed two laps of the course before the race. Glen McCleery (41:05), Ken Surphlus (42:30) & John McDonnell (42:40) all had excellent runs which maintained the ERC clean sweep in the overall standings with John McDonnell taking home the M40 category win. Karen Dolan (43:17) was the next finisher securing a brilliant overall 1st place female award. Albert Little (43:39) was the next athlete home taking the runner-up position in the M40 category.

This also meant ERC had secured the first eight overall finishing positions. Dessie Elton (45:02) was runner up to Alan Houston (43:47) in the M50 category.

Lesley Young (45:15) took second place in the female open category with Maria Magee (47:34) taking the win in the F40 category before running back to Enniskillen. Denise McElroy (48:46) finished runner up in the F40 category followed in by ERC newcomer Annette Hughes (49:21), Gordon McKenzie (50:11) and Julie Wood (50:13).

Oonagh Fitzpatrick (53:32) had a steady run considering she had run all the way out to Derrygonnelly from Enniskillen with Finbar Maguire (53:59) rounding off an excellent day for ERC.