Sinn Fein lose sitting councillor as more results come

VOTING is continuing here at the Omagh Leisure Centre in what has been, and will continue to be, a tense evening for many.

In the past hour, the SDLP’s John Coyle elected in Erne North, following the election of the UUP’s Diana Armstrong earlier today. The TUV’s Alex Elliott has been eliminated. There will be mixed emotions for Sinn Fein, with newcomer Siobhan Currie polling very strongly and looking likely to be elected but sitting councillor John Feely’s return looking increasingly unlikely.

The mixed feelings will be shared throughout the Feely household, with John’s brother Anthony Feely elected in Erne West. Independent Bernice Swift has also been elected in Erne West, where independent Trevor Armstrong has been eliminated. The DUP’s Carol Johnston will be eliminated also on the next count.


With Sinn Fein’s Chris McCaffrey looking like he’s in, it now looks like it could come down to the line between Sinn Fein’s Fionnula Leonard and the SDLP’s Adam Gannon in Erne West.

Finally, one of the biggest blows to Sinn Fein today could arguably be the elimination of sitting councillor Brian McCaffrey, who has no doubt suffered from the strong performance of fellow Roslea man John McCluskey who was elected earlier today.

To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA