Fermanagh learn 2016 Ulster opponents

Fermanagh manager Pete McGrath has learned his Ulster championship opponents for 2016.

Fermanagh manager Pete McGrath has learned his Ulster championship opponents for 2016.

Pete McGrath’s Fermanagh have learned their opponents for next year’s Ulster championship.

The Erne county will face Antrim in the Ulster preliminary round. It’s the third year in succession Fermanagh have been drawn against the Saffrons. Fortunately though, it’s also the third year they’ve been favoured with a home draw in Brewster Park.


However, should Fermanagh progress from the the preliminary round, they will face one of the favourites in the All-Ireland race outright, Donegal. To add to the challenge, they will have to travel to Ballybofey for the quarter-final clash. The semi-final opponents for the winners of that game will come from the winners of the Monaghan v Down semi-final.

Keith Reilly’s Fermanagh minors will also face the same opposition in the preliminary round.

Pete McGrath’s men defeated Antrim in the provincial quarter-final this season, before losing out to ultimate Ulster champions, Malachy O’Rourke’s Monaghan in the semi-finals.

Fermanagh will be looking to build on a successful 2015 which saw them promoted to NFL Division 2 and make the All-Ireland quarter-finals for the first time since 2004.

The full championship draw is as follows. Home advantage to the first team drawn out in the Ulster championship.


Preliminary round


Fermanagh v Antrim


Donegal v Fermanagh or Antrim

Monaghan v Down

Derry v Tyrone

Cavan v Armagh


Donegal or Fermanagh or Antrim v Monaghan or Down

Derry or Tyrone v Cavan or Armagh



First round

Laois v Wicklow

Louth v Carlow

Longford v Offaly


Dublin v Laois or Wicklow

Meath v Louth or Carlow

Westmeath v Longford or Offaly

Wexford v Kildare


Dublin or Laois or Wicklow v Meath or Louth or Carlow

Wexford or Kildare v Westmeath or Longford or Offaly




Tipperary v Waterford

Clare v Limerick


Cork v Tipperary or Waterford

Kerry v Clare or Limerick



Preliminary round

Roscommon v New York

Mayo v London


Leitrim v Roscommon or New York


Sligo v Leitrim or Roscommon or New York

Galway v Mayo or London


To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA