ELECTION LATEST: Erne West councillors revealed

Alex Baird

Alex Baird is one of the five elected from Erne West

SINN FEIN’S Barry Doherty is the latest candidate to be elected into Erne West.

His party colleague, Leanne Maguire was excluded and all transfer votes were split between councillor Doherty and standing Sinn Fein candidate Anthony Feely.


It is expected that Mr Feely will be elected with transfer votes while SDLP man Brendan Gallagher will be re-elected, but without making the quota.

Three candidates have now been elected out of the seven standing for council. They have been confirmed as Alex Baird (UUP) and Bernice Swift (Independent) and Barry Doherty (SF).

Councillor Baird passed the quota with 1,619 votes while Councillor Swift retained her seat with 1,195 votes.

Councillor Doherty was voted through with 1,567 votes.

Cllr Baird’s votes increased by some 400 from 1,254 compared to the 2011 local council elections.

“I couldn’t believe in my third election that I have increased my vote and I am ecstatic at the vote,” he said.

Cllr Swift is the first independent woman to be elected within Fermanagh District Council. Some of the issues topping her list are the Quinn Consortium Group, keeping rural schools open and securing a fair deal for farmers.


The remaining candidates awaiting the result are Anthony Feely (Sinn Fein), Brendan Gallagher (SDLP), Leanne Maguire (Sinn Fein), Jeremy Campbell (DUP), Barry Doherty (Sinn Fein).

For all the latest information follow Fermanagh Herald online.


To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA