Sports Awards winners announced at glitz and glamour night

Brendan McCreesh of McBride & McCreesh Opticians presenting Mark Stafford, captain of the Ballinamallard team which won the Senior team of the year award.

THE WINNERS of the 16th Fermanagh Herald Sports awards, run in association with Belleek Living,  were announced on Friday evening (February 15) at the Manor House Hotel.

The compere for the black tie affair was the BBC’s Denise Watson.


For full coverage of the night’s events, see tomorrow’s paper (Wednesday February 20).

The recipients of the awards were as follows:

Sports Personality of the Year:
Gavin Noble, Olympic Triathlete

Young Sports Personality of the Year:
Eddie Courtney, Gaelic Football

Senior Team of the Year:
Ballinamallard United, Football

School Team of the Year:
Portora Royal, Rowing

Coach/Manager of the Year:
David Black/Glen Kyle, Clogher Valley Rugby


Special Achievement Award:
Sinead O’ Hara, Special Olympics

Youth Sport team of the Year:
Ballinamallard Under 18s, Football

Excellence in an International Field:
Sian Hurst, Wakeboarding

Contribution to Sport:
Francis Shaw, Athletics, Cross-country, Football, GAA

Hall of Fame:
Ann Cairns, Olympic Rowing

To read more.. Subscribe to current edition

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA