Lochside Garage

ELECTION LATEST: Erne East councillors revealed

Paul Robinson

Paul Robinson

ALL the candidates for Erne East have been revealed with the UUP’s Victor Warrington topping the polls at 1,272 votes.

He was closely followed by DUP’s Paul Robinson who claimed 1,246 of the votes while SDLP’s newest candidate Richie McPhillips was elected at the second stage of the count.  An emotional Councillor McPhillips described it as a “great win for the party and for Erne East”.


Three of Sinn Fein’s candidates were elected despite none making the quota of 1,122. They were Sheamus Greene, Brian McCaffrey and Thomas O’Reilly. The party’s first time standing candidate Kate Mulligan lost her seat in the fourth count.

All six have now been elected as councillors to represent Erne East on the new Fermanagh and Omagh Council.

The candidates who failed to secure a seat were Kate Mulligan (Sinn Fein) and Fred Parkinson (UKIP).

Almost 20 years on from the Good Friday Agreement there are concerns over the polarising rhetoric of the recent...

In Fermanagh and South Tyrone with just five seats up for grabs instead of six, one unlucky MLA will...

Stephen Gault has said he has no plans to stand for election unless he has the full backing of...


The Fermanagh Herald is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 28 Belmore Street, Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland, BT74 6AA